Chainlink announces the acquisition of Cornell University ...

US Tax Guide for ETH and other cryptocurrencies

Introduction:  
Greetings, fellow ethtraders! Happy New Year! In the next few months, taxpayers across the US will be filing their 2017 tax returns. As an Enrolled Agent and a ETH/cryptocurrency investor and enthusiast, I wanted to write up a brief guide on how your investments in ETH and other cryptocurrencies are taxed in the US.
 
 
1. Are ETH/cryptocurrency realized gains taxable?
Yes. The IRS treats virtual currency (such as cryptocurrency) as property. That means if you sell ETH, BTC, or any other cryptocurrency that has appreciated in value, you have realized a capital gain and must pay taxes on this income. If you held the position for one year or less, it is a short-term capital gain which is taxed at your ordinary income tax rate. If you held the position for more than one year, it is a long-term capital gain which is taxed at your long-term capital gains tax rate. In most cases, this is 15%, but could also be 0% or 20% depending on your specific ordinary income tax bracket.
 
2. If I sell my ETH for USD on Coinbase but do not transfer the USD from Coinbase to my bank account, am I still taxed?
Yes. The only thing that matters is that you sold the ETH, which creates a taxable transaction. Whether you transfer the USD to your bank account or not does not matter.
 
3. If I use my ETH to buy OMG or another cryptocurrency, is this a taxable transaction?
Most likely yes. See #4 below for a more detailed explanation. If assuming crypto to crypto trades are not able to be like-kind exchanged, then continue on to the next paragraph here.
This is actually two different transactions. The first transaction is selling your ETH for USD. The second transaction is buying the OMG with your USD. You must manually calculate these amounts. For example, I buy 1 ETH for $600 on Coinbase. Later on, the price of 1 ETH rises to $700. I transfer that 1 ETH to Bittrex and use it to buy 37 OMG. I have to report a capital gain of $100 because of this transaction. My total cost basis for the 37 OMG I purchased is $700.
 
4. If I use my ETH to buy OMG or other cryptocurrency, could that be considered a tax-free like-kind exchange?
Probably not. The new tax law says that like-kind exchanges only pertain to real estate transactions. This was done with Section 13303, which replaced “property” with “real property” for all of Section 1031 (page 72 near the bottom). My personal interpretation:
In 2018 and going forward, cryptocurrencies can definitely not be like-kind exchanged.
In 2017 and before, it is a very gray area. I personally am not taking the position that they can be like-kind exchanged, because if the IRS went after a taxpayer who did this, the IRS would probably win and the taxpayer would owe taxes, interest, and probably penalties on every single little gain made from trading one cryptocurrency for another.
Here is a great interpretation of why trading cryptocurrency for cryptocurrency is probably not a like-kind transaction.
In my opinion, the biggest factor is that like-kind exchanges must be reported on Form 8824 and not just ignored. Therefore, if a taxpayer is claiming like-kind exchanges on crypto to crypto exchanges, he or she would have to fill out a Form 8824 for each individual transaction of crypto to crypto, which would be absolutely cumbersome if there are hundreds or thousands of such trades.
Here is another article about like-kind exchanges.
Here is the American Institute of CPAs' letter to the IRS, dated June 10, 2016, asking them to release guidance on whether crypto to crypto can be like-kind exchanged or not. The IRS has not responded to the letter.
 
5. How do I calculate the realized capital gain or loss on the sale of my cryptocurrency?
The realized gain or loss is your total proceeds from the sale minus what you purchased those positions for (your cost basis). For example, you bought 1 ETH for $300 in June of 2017. In December of 2017, you sold that 1 ETH for $800. Your realized gain would be $800 - $300 = $500. Since you held it for one year or less, the $500 would be a short-term capital gain taxed at your ordinary income tax rate.
 
6. Which ETH's cost basis do I use if I have multiple purchases?
The cost basis reporting method is up to you. For example, I buy my first ETH at $300, a second ETH at $530, and a third ETH at $400. Later on, I sell one ETH for $800. I can use:
FIFO (first in first out) - cost basis would the first ETH, $300, which would result in a gain of $500.
LIFO (last in first out) - cost basis would be the third ETH, $400, which would result in a gain of $400.
Average cost - cost basis would be the average of the three ETH, $410, which would result in a gain of $390.
Specific identification - I can just choose which coin's cost basis to use. For example, I can choose the second ETH's cost basis, $530, which would result in the lowest capital gains possible of $270.
 
7. If I end up with a net capital loss, can I claim this on my tax return?
Capital gains and capital losses are netted on your tax return. If the net result of this is a capital loss, you may offset it against ordinary income on your tax return, but only at a maximum of $3,000 per year. The remaining losses are carried forward until you use them up.
 
8. What is the tax rate on my capital gains?
If long-term, the tax rate is 0%, 15%, or 20%, depending on your ordinary income tax bracket. If short-term, the tax bracket you’ll be in will depend on your total income and deductions. The ordinary income tax brackets are 10%, 15%, 25%, 28%, 33%, 35%, and 39.6% in 2017 and 10%, 12%, 22%, 24%, 32%, 35%, and 37% in 2018 and going forward.
Here are the 2017 and 2018 ordinary income tax brackets.
Here are the 2017 and 2018 long-term capital gains tax brackets.
Here is a detailed article on how the calculation of long-term capital gains tax work and how you can take advantage of the 0% long-term capital gains rate, if applicable.
 
9. If I mine ETH or any other cryptocurrency, is this taxable?
Yes. IRS Notice 2014-21 states that mining cryptocurrency is taxable. For example, if you mined $7,000 worth of ETH in 2017, you must report $7,000 of income on your 2017 tax return. For many taxpayers, this will be reported on your Schedule C, and you will most likely owe self-employment taxes on this income as well. The $7,000 becomes the cost basis in your ETH position.
 
10. How do I calculate income for the cryptocurrency I mined?
This is the approach I would take. Say I mined 1 ETH on December 31, 2017. I would look up the daily historical prices for ETH and average the high and low prices for ETH on December 31, 2017, which is ($760.35 + $710.12) / 2 = $735.24. I would report $735.24 of income on my tax return. This would also be the cost basis of the 1 ETH I mined.
 
11. Can I deduct mining expenses on my tax return?
If you are reporting the income from mining on Schedule C, then you can deduct expenses on Schedule C as well. You can deduct the portion of your electricity costs allocated to mining, and then you depreciate the cost of your mining rig over time (probably over five years). Section 179 also allows for the full deduction of the cost of certain equipment in year 1, so you could choose to do that if you wanted to instead.
 
12. If I receive ETH or other cryptocurrency as a payment for my business, is this taxable?
Yes. Similar to mining, your income would be what the value of the coins you received was. This would also be your cost basis in the coins.
 
13. If I received Bitcoin Cash as a result of the hard fork on August 1, 2017, is this taxable?
Most likely yes. For example, if you owned 1 Bitcoin and received 1 Bitcoin Cash on August 1, 2017 as a result of the hard fork, your income would be the value of 1 Bitcoin Cash on that date. Bitcoin.tax uses a value of $277. This value would also be your cost basis in the position. Any other hard forks would probably be treated similarly. Airdrops may be treated similarly as well, in the IRS' view.
Here are a couple more good articles about reporting the Bitcoin Cash fork as taxable ordinary income. The second one goes into depth and cites a US Supreme Court decision as precedent: one, two
 
14. If I use ETH, BTC, or other cryptocurrency to purchase goods or services, is this a taxable transaction?
Yes. It would be treated as selling your cryptocurrency for USD, and then using that USD to purchase those goods or services. This is because the IRS treats cryptocurrency as property and not currency.
 
15. Are cryptocurrencies subject to the wash sale rule?
Probably not. Section 1091 only applies to stock or securities. Cryptocurrencies are not classified as stocks or securities. Therefore, you could sell your ETH at a loss, repurchase it immediately, and still realize this loss on your tax return, whereas you cannot do the same with a stock. Please see this link for more information.
 
16. What if I hold cryptocurrency on an exchange based outside of the US?
There are two separate foreign account reporting requirements: FBAR and FATCA.
A FBAR must be filed if you held more than $10,000 on an exchange based outside of the US at any point during the tax year.
A Form 8938 (FATCA) must be filed if you held more than $75,000 on an exchange based outside of the US at any point during the tax year, or more than $50,000 on the last day of the tax year.
The penalties are severe for not filing these two forms if you are required to. Please see the second half of this post for more information on foreign account reporting.
 
17. What are the tax implications of gifting cryptocurrency?
Small gifts of cryptocurrency do not have a tax implication for the gift giver or for the recipient. The recipient would retain the gift giver's old cost basis, so it could be a good idea for the gift giver to provide records of the original cost basis to the recipient as well (or else the recipient would have to assume a cost basis of $0 if the recipient ever sells the cryptocurrency).
Large gifts of cryptocurrency could start having gift and estate tax implications on the giver if the value exceeds more than $14,000 (in 2017) or $15,000 (in 2018) per year per recipient.
Here's a good article on Investopedia on this issue.
An important exception applies if the gift giver gives cryptocurrency that has a cost basis that is higher than the market value at the time of the gift. Please see the middle of this post for more information on that.
 
18. Where can I learn even more about cryptocurrency taxation?
Unchained Podcast: The Tax Rules That Have Crypto Users Aghast
IRS Notice 2014-21
Great reddit post from tax attorney Tyson Cross from 2014
 
19. Are there any websites that you recommend in helping me with all of this?
Yes - I have used bitcoin.tax and highly recommend it. You can import directly from an exchange to the website using API, and/or export a .csv/excel file from the exchange and import it into the website. The exchanges I successfully imported from were Coinbase, GDAX, Bittrex, and Binance. The result is a .csv or other file that you can import into your tax software.
I have also heard good things about cointracking.info but have not personally used it myself.
 
20. Taxation is theft!
I can't help you there.
 
 
That is the summary I have for now. There have been a lot of excellent cryptocurrency tax guides on reddit, such as this one, this one, and this one, but I wanted to post my short summary guide on ethtrader which hopefully answers some of the questions you all may have about US taxation of ETH and other cryptocurrencies. Please let me know if you have any more questions, and I’d be happy to answer them to the best of my ability. Thank you!
Regarding edits: I have made many edits to my post since I originally posted it. Please refresh to see the latest edits to my guide. Thank you.
 
Disclaimer:
The information contained within this post is provided for informational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for obtaining tax, accounting, or financial advice from a professional.
Any U.S. federal tax advice contained in this post is not intended to be used for the purpose of avoiding penalties under U.S. federal tax law.
Presentation of the information via the Internet is not intended to create, and receipt does not constitute, an advisor-client relationship. Internet users are advised not to act upon this information without seeking the service of a tax professional.
submitted by Nubboi to ethtrader [link] [comments]

Numerical, A-C 10k-50k

0xProject 100DaysofKeto 100pushups 100thieves 11foot8 1200isfineIGUESSugh 1200isjerky 1200isplentyketo 13ReasonsWhy 15minutefood 1911 195 1DaySkill 23andme 24hoursupport 2b2t 2mad4madlads 30PlusSkinCare 32dollars 360video 3Blue1Brown 3d6 3Dmodeling 3DSdeals 3dsFCswap 3dsmax 3dspiracy 40k 40kOrkScience 45thworldproblems 4chanExploitables 4ChanMeta 4hourbodyslowcarb 4Runner 4x4 4Xgaming 52book 52weeksofcooking 5ToubunNoHanayome 6thForm 7daystodie 80s 80sdesign 80smusic 90dayfianceuncensored 90daysgoal 90s 90sAlternative 90scartoons 90sdesign 90sHipHop 90smusic 9gag 9M9H9E9

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA aaaaaaacccccccce AAF_Football abandoned ABCC ABCDesis abletonlive ABraThatDoesntFit AbruptChaos absolutelynotanimeirl absoluteunit absolver abv AcademicBiblical AcademicPhilosophy AcademicPsychology AccidentalArtGallery AccidentalCamouflage AccidentalCosplay AccidentalKubrick accidentallycommunist accidentallyliberian accidentalrockwell AccidentalShoeLoss AccidentalSlapStick accidentalsurrealism accidentaltopgear AccurateBattleSim Accutane AceAttorney acecombat Achain_Official Achievement_Hunter ACMilan acne acorns ACPocketCamp ACT acting ActionFigures ACTrade actualconspiracies actuary acturnips adderall addiction Adelaide adhd_anxiety adhdmeme adidas AdmiralBulldog AdobeIllustrator adops Adoption AdoptMyVillager AdorableDragons adorableoldpeople adrenaline ads adult_toys adultery Adulting AdultsAreFuckinStupid adultswim advancedentrepreneur AdvancedProduction AdvancedRunning adventures AdventuresOfSabrina AdviceAtheists aelfofficial AerialPorn aerospace AerospaceEngineering Aerum aesthetic aestheticrain aesthetics Affiliatemarketing AFL AFOL Africa AfterTheLoop againstmensrights Agario agedlikewine ageofsigmar aggies agile agnostic Agraelus Agriculture AgriculturePorn Ahegao_IRL AhriMains Ai_Shinozaki AirBnB airplaneears airplanes airplants airpods airsoftmarket AirSwimming airz23 AITA ak47 akalimains AkameGaKILL Alabama AlAnon AlanWatts alaska albania alberta albiononline Albuquerque alchemy AlcoholGifRecipes alcoholicsanonymous alcoholism aldi Aleague alexa AliceEve Alienware Aliexpress AlignmentCharts AlissaViolet AliveCasino_AL ALLIVE_Official allthingsprotoss AllThingsTerran allthingszerg almosthomeless AlmostParkour alpinism alteredcarbon AlternateHistory AlternativeHealth AlternativeHistory Alternativerock AlyRaisman Amanda_Seyfried AmandaEliseLee amateur_boxing amateurfights AmateurPhotography amateurradio AmazingTechnology amazonprime amazonreviews AmazonUnder5 AmazonWTF Amber_Heard ambien ambientmusic ambigrams AMD_Stock americangods Ameristralia AmIFreeToGo Amigurumi AmISexy Amouranth Amsterdam amv AmyAdams AnadeArmas AnaheimDucks AnalogCommunity analogygifs analytics Anarchy101 AnarchyChess AnastasiyaKvitko AncientAliens AncientCivilizations ancientegypt ancientgreece ancienthistory ancientrome Androgynoushotties android_beta AndroidAuto androidcirclejerk AndroidMasterRace AndroidTV angelsbaseball Anger AngieVarona AngieVaronaLegal angrycatpics angular Angular2 Animal_Sanctuary AnimalCollective AnimalRights Animals AnimalsBeingConfused AnimalsBeingGeniuses AnimalsBeingLoveable AnimalsBeingPerfect AnimalsBeingSleepy animalsbeingstupid AnimalsFailing animalslookingatfood AnimalsMonching animalssmiling AnimalsWithoutNecks Animedubs AnimeFigures animelegwear animememes animemusic animenews AnimePhoneWallpapers animepiracy animeponytails AnimeSketch Anki anllelasagra Anna_Faith Anna_Louise annakendrick AnnArbor AnneHathaway anno anonymous ANormalDayInAmerica ANormalDayInJapan ansible anthologymemes Anti_Meme AntiAntiJokes antiassholedesign antibaw AntifascistsofReddit antifastonetoss antimeme antinatalism Antiques antivax AntiVaxxers antiwork Antshares AnxietyDepression Anxietyhelp AnythingGoesNews AnythingGoesPics AOC apex_legends ApexOutlands APH aphextwin apocalympics2016 ApocalypsePorn AppleByteMe applehelp AppleMusic appleswap appletv AppNana apps aprilfools APStudents aquaponics aquarium Aquascape AquaSwap AR10 arabs arcadefire archeage Archeology ArchivePorn arcticmonkeys ArduinoProjects ArenaHS arenaofvalor ARG ArianaGrandeAss arielwinter arizona Arkansas ArkEcosystem ARKone arkps4 ArmoredWarfare armoredwomen ARMS AROOOOOOO AroundTheNFL ArtBuddy ArtCrit ArtDeco ArtHistory Artifact ArtificialInteligence ArtistLounge ArtOfRolling artstore AsABlackMan asatru Asch_Platform Asexual asexuality Ashens asheville Ashley_Graham asianamerican asianbeautyexchange asianeats asianfitgirls AsianGirls AsianGirlsWithGlasses AsianLadyboners AsianMasculinity AsianParentStories Asiantraps AsiaTripper ask Ask_Politics ask_transgender askashittydoctor AskAShittyMechanic AskAstrologers askastronomy AskBaking askcarsales AskComputerScience AskDrugNerds askdrugs AskEconomics AskEurope AskFeminists AskFoodHistorians AskGameMasters AskGames AskHistory AskHR AskLEO AskLiteraryStudies AskLosAngeles AskMarketing askmeaboutmyjob AskNYC AskOldPeople AskParents AskPhotography AskPhysics AskProgramming askpsychology AskScienceDiscussion askseddit AskSF AskStatistics AskTechnology AskThe_Donald askTO AskTrollX AskVet AskWomenOver30 asl asoiafcirclejerk ASOUE aspergirls aspiememes AssassinsCreedOdyssey assettocorsa AssPotatoCucumberDog astrologymemes astrologyreadings Astroneer astrophysics Astros ASU ATAAE AteThePasta atheismrebooted AtlantaHawks AtlantaTV AtlantaUnited AtomicPorn atoptics ATT AubreyPlaza auckland audible audio audiobooksonyoutube audiodrama Audiomemes audiophilemusic AudioPost augmentedreality AusFinance auslaw AustralianCattleDog AustralianMakeup AustralianPolitics AustralianShepherd austrian_economics autism AutoChess Autoflowers Automate autotldr AutumnPorn avengedsevenfold AverageBattlestations AVexchange aviationmaintenance aviationpics AVINOC AVoid5 avporn awardtravel AwesomeOffBrands aww_gifs awwakeup awwgifs awwnverts awwtf AXELNetwork axolotls Ayahuasca ayylmao AZCardinals aznidentity AZURE AzureLane

babies babushkadogs BABY_ANIMAL_GIFS babyduckgifs babyhippogifs BABYMETAL babyrhinogifs babywearing Backcountry BackgroundArt backpacks BacktotheFuture BackYardChickens Bacon BadAssShaggy BadAtCat badcode badeconomics badlegaladvice badlinguistics badmathematics BadMensAnatomy badMovies BadMUAs badparents badparking badpeoplestories badphilosophy badpolitics BadRocketLeagueGoals badroommates badscience badtaxidermy badUIbattles baduk Bailey_Powell bakchodi bakedart bakeoff bald baldursgate balisong BALLET ballpython baltimore BaltimoreAndDCr4r bangalore BanGDream Banished banjo Banking Banksy banned BannedFromThe_Donald bapcsalescanada bapeheads BarbaraPalvin BarbaraWalters4Scale Barca Barcelona BarcodePorn bardmains BarefootRunning barista Barry Barthor Basebaww BaseBuildingGames bash Basketball BasketballTips bassfishing bassnectar BatFacts BatmanArkham BATProject Battleborn battlebots battlecats battlefield3 battlefield_live battlefront BattlefrontTWO Battlegrounds BattleJackets battlemaps BattlePaintings BattleRite Battletechgame Battletops battlewagon batty baww bayeuxtapestry BCoinsg beach BeachCity Beachporn beadsprites beagle BeansInThings BearCubGIFs BeardedDragons BeardPorn bears BearsWithBeaks beatlescirclejerk Beatmatch beatsaber BeatzCoin BeautifulFemales BeautyAddiction BeautyDiagrams becomeaman BedroomBands bee_irl beermoneyglobal beerwithaview bees beforeandafteredit BeforePost beginnerprojects BeginnerWoodWorking Beginning_Photography BehavioralEconomics behindthephoto BehindTheTables BellaThorne Bellingham bending bengals BenignExistence Bento benzodiazepines berkeley berlin bernesemountaindogs BernieSanders berserklejerk Besiege Best_tattoos Bestbuy BestOfAmazonPrime bestofcraigslist BestOfLiveleak bestofTLDR bestoftwitter bestofWritingPrompts BethesdaSoftworks Beto2020 BettermentBookClub BGCCircleJerk Bgogo bi_irl Bible bicycletouring bigbangedmemes bigbangtheory BigChungus bigdata bigfoot BigMouth bigniggasaga bigseo bikepacking Bikeporn bikesgonewild bikewrench BillAndPhil BillBurr billiards billieeilish Billions billwurtzmemes BinanceExchange BingeEatingDisorder bingingwithbabish Biochemistry bioinformatics bioniclelego bioniclememes biotech bipolar2 BipolarReddit birding birdpics BirdsForScale birdstakingthetrain Birmingham birthcontrol birthofasub bisexualadults bitcademyfb BitchImATrain bitcoin_uncensored BitcoinCA Bitcoincash BitcoinMining bitcoinxt BitLifeApp BitMarket blackberry blackbookgraffiti BlackClover Blackfellas blackfriday BlackHair BlackHairedGirls blackholedmemes blackladies BlackMetal blackops2 Blackout2015 BlackPink blacksmithing BladeAndSorcery bladeandsoul bladerunner Bladesmith blakelively Blazblue blazbluextagbattle BleachBraveSouls bleachshirts blessedcomments Blink182 Blizzard blockchainio Blogging blogs blogsnark blok bloodbowl blowit Bluegrass BlueJackets BlueOrigin blues bluesguitarist Blup blurrypicturesofcats blurrypicturesofdogs BManiaNSFW bmx Boardgamedeals BoardwalkEmpire boating boatporn bobdylan bobross boburnham bodegaboys BodyAcceptance bodymods BodyPaintNSFW Bogleheads Boise BokuNoMetaAcademia BoldmanCapital bollywood Bombing bonehealingjuice Bongocat boniver bonnaroo BonsaiPorn Booette boogie2988 bookbinding bookclapreviewclap bookexchange bookhaul booklists bookquotes bookshelf BoomBeach boomershumor boostedboards BoostForReddit bootleg_memes bootroom BorderCollie BorderlandsPreSequel Borderporn BoringCompany borrow borussiadortmund Boruto Bossfightarena BossFights BossfightUniverse BostonBruins BostonSocialClub BostonTerrier bostontrees BotanicalPorn botany botsrights bottlebrush botw boulder bowhunting Bowling Boxer BPDlovedones BPDmemes bptcg BradyHaran brakebills brandnew brandonsanderson BranWinsTheThrone brasilivre bravefrontier Braveryjerk Braves BravoRealHousewives Brawlhalla BrazilianBabes breakingbadcomics breakingmom breastfeeding Breathless BreedingDittos Brewers brewing brexit BrickBlock bridezillas BrieLarson bristol britishcolumbia BritishTV britpics BroadCity Broadway Brochet BrokeHobbies Brooklyn brownbeauty brownman Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrt bruhmoment BryceDallasHoward BSD BSG btd6 BTFC BTS buccaneers buccos budgetveggie Buffalo buffalobills buffy bugout buildmeapc bujo bulbasaurmasterrace bulgaria Bulldogs Bumble BundleOfBrittany BunniesStandingUp burgers BurningMan Business_Ideas BusinessHub BusinessIntelligence businessschool BusinessTantrums Busty_Petite Buttcoin BuzzFeedUnsolved BytecoinBCN

c137 C_Programming C_S_T cabins cablefail cablegore CableManagement cactus cad cade cafe CafeRacers CAguns cakeday cakedecorating Cakes CAKEWIN CalamariRaceTeam calculus CalgaryFlames CallMeCarson CallMeKevin callofcthulhu CallOfDutyBlackOps4 CallOfDutyWorldWarTwo calmhands caloriecount camaro Cameras CamilaCabello CamillaHasselgaard CampfireCooking camphalfblood canadaguns CanadianForces CanadianInvestor CanadianMOMs canadients canberra cancer candiceswanepoel canes cannabiscultivation Canning CannotWatchScottsTots canon canucks Capitalism CapitalismVSocialism caps CaptainDisillusion CaptainSparklez CaptchaArt capybara CaraDelevingne CarAV carbage carcrash CardiB Cardinals carlhprogramming CarmellaRose CarolineVreeland Carpentry CartoonGangsters cartoons Cascadia Casefile caseyneistat CasiDavis cassetteculture cassiebrown CastleRockTV castlevania CastRecordings casualknitting casualnintendo CasualPokemonTrades cat cataclysmdda Catan catapult_memes catastrophicsuccess Catbun CatCircles catfruit CatHighFive CatholicMemes catreactiongifs CatReactions CatsAndDogsBFF CatsBeingCats CatsInBusinessAttire CatsInSinks Catsmirin CatsMurderingToddlers CatsNamedToothless CatsOnCats CatsOnPizza catsridingroombas catssittingdown catsvstechnology caughtcheating caving CayleeCowan cbdinfo celeb_redheads CelebBattles CelebGfys celebrities CelebrityArmpits Celebrityasses CelebrityFeet celebritylegs CelebsBR Celiac CelineFarach cellbits CemeteryPorn CemuPiracy Ceramics cerebral CerseiWinsTheThrone CFA CFL chadsriseup Championship chanceme ChanceTheRapper changelog ChannelWatch ChantelJeffries chanzhfsneakers chapotraphouse2 Charcuterie Chargers ChargeYourPhone Charity Charleston Charlotte CharlotteHornets CharlotteMcKinney CharlyJordan Chattanooga cheatatmathhomework cheating_stories cheerleaders Cheese cheesemaking Chefit chefknives chemhelp ChemicalEngineering chemistrymemes chernobyl ChernobylTV CherokeeXJ Chevy chicagofood ChicagoSuburbs Chicken_Thoughts chickens chickswithchokers CHICubs Chihuahua chiliadmystery chillmusic chillsnarrator chillstep chillwave chinareddits Chinese Chinese_Bootleg_Memes chinesefood ChineseLanguage Chinesetourists chiptunes ChloeBennet chloegracemoretz chomsky chrissimpsonsartist ChristenHarper Christian Christians christinahendricks christmas ChromaProfiles ChronicPain chuck churchporn churningcanada cicada CICO cider Cigarettes cincinnati Cinema4D CinemaSins CineShots circlebroke circlebroke2 circojeca cirkeltrek Cisco cissp CitiesSkylinesModding Cityofheroes citypop civ5 civbattleroyale civic civilengineering CivPolitics CivVI CK2GameOfthrones ClashOfClansRecruit classicalguitar ClassicalMemes classicfilms classicrage ClassicRock ClassicScreenBeauties CleaningTips cleganebowl Cleveland CLG ClickerHeroes clickholeorbuzzfeed climate ClimateActionPlan climatechange ClimateOffensive climateskeptics climbharder ClimbingCircleJerk ClimbingPorn Climbingvids Clojure CloneHero clothdiaps Cloud9 CLOUDS Cloververse ClumsyAnimals CNC CNNmemes cocaine cockatiel CodAW CodeGeass Codependency codes codyslab COents CoffeeWithJesus Coilporn CoinBase coins CoinsuperEx Coldplay coldshowers collegebaseball collegecooking CollegeGirlsKiss Colombia ColoradoAvalanche ColoradoRockies ColoradoSprings ColorBlind Colts Columbus comedyamputation ComedyArchaeology comedybangbang ComedyHitmen comeonandslam comicbookart comicbookcollecting comiccon ComicWalls commandandconquer commandline CommentAwardsForum CommercialRealEstate CommunismMemes CompanyOfHeroes compDota2 CompetitiveEDH CompetitiveForHonor CompetitiveWoW composer composting CompTIA CompulsiveSkinPicking ComputerEngineering computerforensics computergraphics ComputerSecurity computertechs computervision computing conan ConanBeingAwesome ConanExiles ConanTravels conceptart Concordia conduitporn ConfusedTravolta ConfusingGravity confusingperspective conlangs Connecticut conservation conservatives consoledeals conspiracies ConspiracyII ConspiracyMemes Construction ContemporaryArt content_marketing ContestOfChampions ContraPoints CookieClicker cookiedecorating cookingvideos CoolCollections coolgithubprojects copywriting corgibutts CorgiGifs Cornell CornGuy Corridor Corsair corsets Cortex_Official Corvette Cosmere cosmoandwanda cosmology Cosmos cosplayers cosplayprops Costco cotrader couchsurfing CougarsAndCubs CounterCreeped counterstrike counting country CourtneyTailor CoutureReps coversongs covfefe cowboybebop coys Cplusplus cpp_questions CPTSD CPUCS Cr1TiKaL crabseatingthings CrackedColdCases CrackheadCraigslist CrackStatus CrackSupport CraftBeer craftit craigslist CrapperDesign crappycontouring CrappyDesign2 crappymusic crashbandicoot crazyexgirlfriend CrazyHand crazystairs creativecoding creativewriting Creatures_of_earth CredibleDefense CRedit CreditCards CreditsOfficial CreedThoughts creepy_gif CreepyArt CreepyAskReddit creepyasterisks2 creepydesign creepygaming CreepyPastas cremposting CretinsoftheNightclub cricut crime criminalminds cripplingalcoholism criterion CriticalTheory Crittersoncapybaras croatia crochetpatterns CrohnsDisease cromch CroppedNorrisJokes CrossfitGirls CrossView CrowdPulledOnStage crtgaming Cruise Crunchyroll CrusadeMemes crusadersquest crypto_currency Crypto_General CryptocurrencyICO CryptocurrencyICOs cryptocurrencynewico cryptography CryptoSoul CryptoTechnology CryptoTrade CryptoTradingFloor Cryptozoology Crystals cs50 csbooks CSEducation CSeventVODs csgobetting csgomarketforum csgotrade csMajors CSRRacing2 css_irl csshelp Cthulhu cuba CubeWorld Cubs CucumbersScaringCats cuddlebuddies CuddlePuddle cuddleroll CulinaryPlating CulinaryPorn CultCinema cults culturalstudies Cumberbitches Cumtown cuntsdownunder Cuphead curb curiosityrover curiousvideos curlsinthesquatrack Currentlytripping cursed_cats cursedcursedcomments cursedgifs custommagic CustomPlayerCutscene cute CuteButHorrifying cutegirlgifs cutekorean cutelittlefangs cutenoobs CuteTraps cutouts cvsreceipts cyanogenmod Cyberbooty cyberlaws Cyberpunk_Music CyberVeinOfficial cyclocross cynicalbritofficial czech CZFirearms
submitted by j259awesome to u/j259awesome [link] [comments]

US Tax Guide for Cryptocurrencies

Introduction:  
Greetings, cryptax! Tax season is upon us, and in the next couple of months, taxpayers across the US will be filing their 2017 tax returns. As a tax professional, an Enrolled Agent, and a cryptocurrency investor and enthusiast, I wanted to write up a brief guide on how your investments in cryptocurrencies are taxed in the US.
 
 
1. Are cryptocurrency realized gains taxable?
Yes. The IRS treats virtual currency (such as cryptocurrency) as property. That means if you sell BTC, ETH, or any other cryptocurrency that has appreciated in value, you have realized a capital gain and must pay taxes on this income. If you held the position for one year or less, it is a short-term capital gain which is taxed at your ordinary income tax rate. If you held the position for more than one year, it is a long-term capital gain which is taxed at your long-term capital gains tax rate. In most cases, this is 15%, but could also be 0% or 20% depending on your specific ordinary income tax bracket.
 
2. If I sell my BTC for USD on Coinbase but do not transfer the USD from Coinbase to my bank account, am I still taxed?
Yes. The only thing that matters is that you sold the BTC, which creates a taxable transaction. Whether you transfer the USD to your bank account or not does not matter.
 
3. If I use my BTC to buy another cryptocurrency (XMR for example), is this a taxable transaction?
Most likely yes. See #4 below for a more detailed explanation. If assuming crypto to crypto trades are not able to be like-kind exchanged, then continue on to the next paragraph here.
This is actually two different transactions. The first transaction is selling your BTC for USD. The second transaction is buying the XMR with your USD. You must manually calculate these amounts (or use a website such as bitcoin.tax or software to calculate it for you). For example, I buy 1 BTC for $8,000 on Coinbase. Later on, the price of 1 BTC rises to $9,000. I transfer that 1 BTC to Bittrex and use it to buy 38 XMR. I have to report a capital gain of $1,000 because of this transaction. My total cost basis for the 38 XMR I purchased is $9,000.
 
4. If I use my BTC to buy another cryptocurrency, could that be considered a tax-free like-kind exchange?
Probably not. The new tax law says that like-kind exchanges only pertain to real estate transactions. This was done with Section 13303, which replaced “property” with “real property” for all of Section 1031 (page 72 near the bottom). My personal interpretation:
In 2018 and going forward, cryptocurrencies can definitely not be like-kind exchanged.
In 2017 and before, it is a very gray area. I personally am not taking the position that they can be like-kind exchanged, because if the IRS went after a taxpayer who did this, the IRS would probably win and the taxpayer would owe taxes, interest, and probably penalties on every single little gain made from trading one cryptocurrency for another.
Here is a great interpretation of why trading cryptocurrency for cryptocurrency is probably not a like-kind transaction.
In my opinion, the biggest factor is that like-kind exchanges must be reported on Form 8824 and not just ignored. Therefore, if a taxpayer is claiming like-kind exchanges on crypto to crypto exchanges, he or she would have to fill out a Form 8824 for each individual transaction of crypto to crypto, which would be absolutely cumbersome if there are hundreds or thousands of such trades.
Another is that there has to be a Qualified Intermediary that facilitates a like-kind exchange. So, it's a more involved process, and that's why I think cryptocurrency cannot be like-kind exchanged.
Here is another article about like-kind exchanges.
Here is the American Institute of CPAs' letter to the IRS, dated June 10, 2016, asking them to release guidance on whether crypto to crypto can be like-kind exchanged or not. The IRS has not responded to the letter.
 
5. How do I calculate the realized capital gain or loss on the sale of my cryptocurrency?
The realized gain or loss is your total proceeds from the sale minus what you purchased those positions for (your cost basis). For example, you bought 1 BTC for $3,000 in June of 2017. In December of 2017, you sold that 1 BTC for $18,000. Your realized gain would be $18,000 - $3,000 = $15,000. Since you held it for one year or less, the $15,000 would be a short-term capital gain taxed at your ordinary income tax rate.
 
6. Which BTC's cost basis do I use if I have multiple purchases?
The cost basis reporting method is up to you. For example, I buy my first BTC at $3,000, a second BTC at $5,300, and a third BTC at $4,000. Later on, I sell one BTC for $8,000. I can use:
FIFO (first in first out) - cost basis would the first BTC, $3,000, which would result in a gain of $5,000.
LIFO (last in first out) - cost basis would be the third BTC, $4,000, which would result in a gain of $4,000.
Average cost - cost basis would be the average of the three BTC, $4,100, which would result in a gain of $3,900.
Specific identification - I can choose which coin's cost basis to use. For example, I can choose the second BTC's cost basis, $5,300, which would result in the lowest capital gains possible of $2,700.
The IRS has not given any guidance on cost basis accounting methods for cryptocurrency, but I am taking the position that any method can be used, and that you can change your method at any time as you please (e.g. FIFO for one year, LIFO for another. Or, FIFO for the sale of a specific lot, then LIFO for the sale of another lot on the same day).
 
7. If I end up with a net capital loss, can I claim this on my tax return?
Capital gains and capital losses are netted on your tax return. If the net result of this is a capital loss, you may offset it against ordinary income on your tax return, but only at a maximum of $3,000 per year. The remaining losses are carried forward until you use them up.
 
8. What is the tax rate on my capital gains?
If long-term, the tax rate is 0%, 15%, or 20%, depending on your ordinary income tax bracket. If short-term, the tax bracket you’ll be in will depend on your total income and deductions. The ordinary income tax brackets are 10%, 15%, 25%, 28%, 33%, 35%, and 39.6% in 2017 and 10%, 12%, 22%, 24%, 32%, 35%, and 37% in 2018 and going forward.
Here are the 2017 and 2018 ordinary income tax brackets.
Here are the 2017 and 2018 long-term capital gains tax brackets.
Here is a detailed article on how the calculation of long-term capital gains tax work and how you can take advantage of the 0% long-term capital gains rate, if applicable.
 
9. If I mine BTC or any other cryptocurrency, is this taxable?
Yes. IRS Notice 2014-21 states that mining cryptocurrency is taxable. For example, if you mined $8,000 worth of BTC in 2017, you must report $8,000 of ordinary income on your 2017 tax return. For many taxpayers, this will be reported on your Schedule C, and you will most likely owe self-employment taxes on this income as well. The $8,000 becomes the cost basis in your BTC position.
 
10. How do I calculate income for the cryptocurrency I mined?
This is the approach I would take. Say I mined 0.01 BTC on December 31, 2017. I would look up the daily historical prices for BTC and average the high and low prices for BTC on December 31, 2017, which is ($14,377.40 + $12,755.60) / 2 = $13,566.50. I would report $13,566.50 * 0.01 = $135.67 of income on my tax return. This would also be the cost basis of the 0.01 BTC I mined.
 
11. Can I deduct mining expenses on my tax return?
If you are reporting the income from mining on Schedule C, then you can deduct expenses on Schedule C as well. You can deduct the portion of your electricity costs allocated to mining, and then you depreciate the cost of your mining rig over time (probably over five years). Section 179 also allows for the full deduction of the cost of certain equipment in year 1, so you could choose to do that if you wanted to instead.
 
12. If I receive BTC or other cryptocurrency as a payment for my business, is this taxable?
Yes. Similar to mining, your income would be what the value of the coins you received was. This would also be your cost basis in the coins.
 
13. If I received Bitcoin Cash as a result of the hard fork on August 1, 2017, is this taxable?
Most likely yes. For example, if you owned 1 Bitcoin and received 1 Bitcoin Cash on August 1, 2017 as a result of the hard fork, your income would be the value of 1 Bitcoin Cash on that date. Bitcoin.tax uses a value of $277. This value would also be your cost basis in the position. Any other hard forks would probably be treated similarly. Airdrops may be treated similarly as well, in the IRS' view.
Here are a couple more good articles about reporting the Bitcoin Cash fork as taxable ordinary income. The second one goes into depth and cites a US Supreme Court decision as precedent: one, two
 
14. If I use BTC or other cryptocurrency to purchase goods or services, is this a taxable transaction?
Yes. It would be treated as selling your cryptocurrency for USD, and then using that USD to purchase those goods or services. This is because the IRS treats cryptocurrency as property and not currency.
 
15. Are cryptocurrencies subject to the wash sale rule?
Probably not. Section 1091 only applies to stock or securities. Cryptocurrencies are not classified as stocks or securities. Therefore, you could sell your BTC at a loss, repurchase it immediately, and still realize this loss on your tax return, whereas you cannot do the same with a stock. Please see this link for more information.
 
16. What if I hold cryptocurrency on an exchange based outside of the US?
There are two separate foreign account reporting requirements: FBAR and FATCA.
A FBAR must be filed if you held more than $10,000 on an exchange based outside of the US at any point during the tax year.
A Form 8938 (FATCA) must be filed if you held more than $75,000 on an exchange based outside of the US at any point during the tax year, or more than $50,000 on the last day of the tax year.
The penalties are severe for not filing these two forms if you are required to. Please see the second half of this post for more information on foreign account reporting.
 
17. What are the tax implications of gifting cryptocurrency?
Small gifts of cryptocurrency do not have a tax implication for the gift giver or for the recipient. The recipient would retain the gift giver's old cost basis, so it could be a good idea for the gift giver to provide records of the original cost basis to the recipient as well (or else the recipient would have to assume a cost basis of $0 if the recipient ever sells the cryptocurrency).
Large gifts of cryptocurrency could start having gift and estate tax implications on the giver if the value exceeds more than $14,000 (in 2017) or $15,000 (in 2018) per year per recipient.
Here's a good article on Investopedia on this issue.
An important exception applies if the gift giver gives cryptocurrency that has a cost basis that is higher than the market value at the time of the gift. Please see the middle of this post for more information on that.
 
18. Where can I learn even more about cryptocurrency taxation?
Unchained Podcast: The Tax Rules That Have Crypto Users Aghast
IRS Notice 2014-21
Great reddit post from tax attorney Tyson Cross from 2014
 
19. Are there any websites that you recommend in helping me with all of this?
Yes - I have used bitcoin.tax and highly recommend it. You can import directly from an exchange to the website using API, and/or export a .csv/excel file from the exchange and import it into the website. The exchanges I successfully imported from were Coinbase, GDAX, Bittrex, and Binance. The result is a .csv or other file that you can import into your tax software.
I have also heard good things about cointracking.info but have not personally used it myself.
 
20. If I move my BTC from one exchange to another, or into a hard wallet, is this a taxable event?
No - you are not selling anything, so no gains are realized.
 
21. Where do I report cryptocurrency sales on my tax return?
The summary of your sales would reported on Schedule D on line 3 and/or line 10 depending on short-term or long-term. Supplemental Form 8949 must also be included with Box C or Box F checked depending on short-term or long-term. Form 8949 is where you must list each individual sale.
 
22. If coins become lost or inaccessible (e.g. lost or forgotten passphrase or thrown away hard drive), can I claim that as a loss? What about coins that have gotten stolen? What about losing money in investment or ICO scams (e.g. Bitconnect or Confido)?
These are really tricky questions. Unfortunately, the potential to claim such a loss against ordinary income is very low, especially with the new tax law. At the very least, capital losses can be claimed, but the deduction is capped at $3,000 per year against ordinary income with the rest carrying forward indefinitely.
The new tax law changed the casualty and theft loss to only apply to presidential disaster areas, so at least in the case of a loss passphrase, I think the answer is no for 2018 and going forward. For 2017, the answer is possibly yes. Here is an article on the subject if you are interested in reading more.
 
23. Taxation is theft!
Sorry, I can't help you there.
 
 
That is the summary I have for now. There have been a lot of excellent cryptocurrency tax guides on reddit, such as this one and this one, but I wanted to post my guide on cryptax which hopefully answers some of the questions you all may have about US taxation of cryptocurrencies. Please let me know if you have any more questions, and I’d be happy to answer them to the best of my ability. Thank you!
Regarding edits: I may make many edits to my post after I originally post it. Please refresh to see the latest edits to my guide. Thank you.
 
Disclaimer:
The information contained within this post is provided for informational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for obtaining tax, accounting, or financial advice from a professional.
Any U.S. federal tax advice contained in this post is not intended to be used for the purpose of avoiding penalties under U.S. federal tax law.
Presentation of the information via the Internet is not intended to create, and receipt does not constitute, an advisor-client relationship. Internet users are advised not to act upon this information without seeking the service of a tax professional.
submitted by Nubboi to cryptax [link] [comments]

QUANTSTAMP (QSP) REVIEW - Cost-effective, Secure and Automated auditing process for Smart-Contracts

Problem: Currently, smart contracts are not secure and companies often have to hire smart contract auditors and consultants. These services are often expensive, slow, error-prone and scarce.
Solution: Quantstamp aims to solve this by building the first smart contract security-auditing protocol that will be timely, automated and cost-effective. This is achieved by an automated and upgradeable software verifications system and an automated bounty payout system.
The Quantstamp protocol solves the smart contract security problem by creating a scaleable and cost-effective system to audit all smart contracts on the Ethereum network. The end goal for Quantstamp is for every Ethereum smart contract to use Quantstamp protocol to perform a security audit because "security is essential".
Notable Team members:
  1. Co-founder & CEO - Richard Ma: Cornell ECE, Algorithmic Portfolio Manager at Bitcoin HFT Fund.
  2. Co-founder & CTO - Steven Stewart: University of Waterloo where he focuses on improving the performance of software verification tools and solvers using distributed computing and GPUs.
Below is the list of the different type of participants:
  1. Contributors (security experts) - Rewarded for contributing software and verifying solidity programs.
  2. Validators (contributors of computing power) - Rewarded for running the validation node.
  3. Bug finders - Rewarded for submitting bugs.
  4. Contract creators - Pay to get their smart contract verified.
  5. Contract users - Will receive the results of security audits
  6. Voters - To provide governance to the network. (voting for upgrades and reduces the chance of a fork and slowly decentralizes the founding team overtime).
Pros:
  1. First to Market: Quantstamp is one of the early entrants in the market which will give them an advantage as there are very few competitors as of now. The only noticeable competitor is OpenZeppelin.
  2. Market Demand: Security is a crucial component in the cryptocurrency space. I just can’t imagine Initial Coin Offering being conducted without having strong security audit of their smart contract code.
  3. Hype Factor: This project is generating a lot of market awareness recently Escpecially since Binance recently had QSP audit every single ERC20 listed on Binance
The reason I looked into QSP is because I think this might be one of Apollo Investments Q2 picks. They will be releasing the list sometime soon I think. I am not invested in QSP atm but cause I think it'll come down a bit in price. Anyone else have any ideas on what a good buy in price might be?
submitted by ToothFairyTea to CryptoCurrency [link] [comments]

Binance With Credit Card, Coinbase New York Coins, Bitcoin Hash Rate & Bitcoin Price Recovery Bitcoin Rallies Higher, Binance Bullish, XRP Resistance, Bold BTC Forecast & Ironic News Of The Day All In On Bitcoin, Futures Soar, Stellar + Ledger, Ethereum Inflation, XRP Sales Down & Binance DDoS Cardano Shelley Begins, Unlimited Easing, Binance Mining, BitFinex Pulse & Be Careful The Truth Revealed, Binance Mining Pool, Digitization Benefits & Bitcoin Trade Volume New High #Binance Futures - Trade Bitcoin, altcoins and more with up to 125x leverage BITCOIN BULL RUN IN 30 DAYS SAYS CRYPTO TRADER - Binance Biggest Upgrade Ever Bitcoin Halving Theory, History Repeating, Nasdaq + R3, Binance Fiat, Swiss Crypto Association Rushing To Buy Bitcoin, Binance Vs Ethereum, Libra Kitties, Bitcoin DeFi & BTC Oil Company BITCOIN BROKE $6,000!!! Going Parabolic??  $6,400 Resistance!!  Binance Re-Org...

Bitcoin erholte sich nach dem steilen Rückgang, in dem die Kryptowährung die schlechteste Tagesperformance seit September 2019 verzeichnet hatte. Der Bitcoin-Dollar-Wechselkurs stieg am Dienstag um 3,70 Prozent und erreichte ein neues Intraday-Hoch von etwa 8.094 Dollar. Good question! Binance itself isn’t clear on the scope of the breach. The bad news is, if your bitcoin was in Binance’s hot wallet, it now belongs to bad guys. The good news is that $40 ... The company has acquired a privacy oracle solution developed by Cornell University, called DECO. Neither of the two revealed the amount it was paid for the acquisition. The solution, DECO, was originally created by Ari Juel, the former chief scientist at RSA, a digital security company. From what is known, Juel will also join Chainlink as part ... In Binance’s particular case, prominent members of the bitcoin community point out that bitcoin being the world’s largest blockchain is a particularly unique case with a reputation to uphold. Cornell University researchers, using the Falcon Relay Network, have concluded that neither of the two most popular cryptocurrency blockchains, Bitcoin and Ethereum, are as decentralized as once ... Cornell University still remains a leader in crypto education since twice as many students report having to take a crypto course more than they did in the previous years, as we are reading in the latest cryptocurrency news today.. According to research that included more than 735 US students aged 16 and older, there was a comprehensive course at 50 international universities, analysis and ...

[index] [20481] [10694] [7300] [8188] [1696] [21818] [11453] [23558] [10557] [23898]

Binance With Credit Card, Coinbase New York Coins, Bitcoin Hash Rate & Bitcoin Price Recovery

Amazon Affiliate Link - (If You Buy Something On Amazon, I Get A Small Commission As A Way To Support The Channel) - (There is NO extra cost for you) https://amzn.to/39MXp4q Computer I Use To ... On-chain analyst Willy Woo published a new Bitcoin price model showing a new BTC bull run could begin in 30 days. One fundamental metric just reached levels not seen since just before the intense ... Amazon Affiliate Link - (If You Buy Something On Amazon, I Get A Small Commission As A Way To Support The Channel) - (There is NO extra cost for you) https://amzn.to/39MXp4q Computer I Use To ... Amazon Affiliate Link - (If You Buy Something On Amazon, I Get A Small Commission As A Way To Support The Channel) - (There is NO extra cost for you) https://amzn.to/39MXp4q ----- My Second ... The University of Melbourne Recommended for you 1:01:30 Central Bank Likes XRP, Binance Acquisition, Giving Up On Bitcoin & Crypto Will Make Millionaires - Duration: 36:02. Amazon Affiliate Link - (If You Buy Something On Amazon, I Get A Small Commission As A Way To Support The Channel) - (There is NO extra cost for you) https://amzn.to/39MXp4q Computer I Use To ... Key Bitcoin Chart NOBODY Is Watching Right Now (btc crypto live new market price today 2019 analysis - Duration: 46:41. Crypto Crew University 53,955 views 46:41 Amazon Affiliate Link - (If You Buy Something On Amazon, I Get A Small Commission As A Way To Support The Channel) - (There is NO extra cost for you) https://amzn.to/39MXp4q Computer I Use To ... #Binance Futures - Trade Bitcoin, altcoins and more with up to 125x leverage. Category Entertainment; Show more Show less. Loading... Chat Replay is disabled for this Premiere. Autoplay When ... Bitcoin Donations Address: ... Professor Wally From Gunbot University RTC 2021 Forex Lens Inc Auspicious Agile & Blockchain Yet Another Nick Bitsource AML Solutions Chris Charles Roman Geber David ...

#